Turn to You

Today the good days faded
And I’m faced with darkness
Your light carries me through
As I turn to You.
Salvation comes from You alone
It gives value to the valueless,
Meaning to the meaningless
Your blessing covers all who ask.

Sometimes it’s hard to see Your light
The world can bend me out of shape
It must be hard to see me through
Unless I turn to You.
Father take my life and all that’s left of it
Make it look like You
Broken though it may be
Nothing delights theย Potter more than heated clay.

Now all I know is cold & dreary
My fingers, mind, and constitution
Who knows if I still have strength
Or if I’ll turn to You.
You claim the earth and everything in it
You hold the world and all who stand grounded
Surrounded by the ocean’s wide grasp
I cannot worship you with less outstretched hands.

But God you shield me on all sides
You support my feet, lift my head high
With all my might I shout to God
When I turn to You.
And I’m an olive tree
Growing green along the waters
I trust in the generous mercy
Of God, my eternal Father.

In the company of those who call you “Lord”
I worship you
Only when I’m totally defeated, especially then
I turn to You.
An humble and cast crown are all I have
To offer to a gracious King.
Only when I’m totally defeated, especially then
I turn to You.

Leave a Reply

